The newly elected council Chairmen in the eighteen local government areas of Ondo State have been sworn in

The Permanent secretary, cabinet and service matters, Mr Gbenga Elewuju (rmmd) led the newly elected council chairmen in the oaths of office and allegiance at the event which took place at the Dome in Akure

A cross section of the new council bosses.

All the local government chairmen are from the ruling party, the All progressives congress, APC

Some of them are; Adurogboye Oluyemi for Akoko south East, Akande Samson for Akoko North West, while Akinfe Olajide emerged in Irele, Omosua Olayemi became Owo council chairman while Prince Kayode Aroloye is the Chairman of Idanre local government.

The chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission, ODIEC and Chief Returning Officer for the council polls, professor Yomi Dinakin who announced the results on sunday in Akure also declared that the party candidates were unopposed in five local government areas which included Akoko North-East, Ose (dm), Ifedore(dmdm), Odigbo (ddm), and Irele (ddd)

Addressing the gathering, governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu who described the Saturday’s local government election as commendable in spite of paucity of funds challenged the local government chairmen and their vices to ensure the welfare of the people at the grassroots remained their priorities

Governor Akeredolu who however observed few hitches in the just concluded local government polls urged the chairmen to work harder to be able to compliments confidence reposed in them by the electorate

Governor Akeredolu also charged the council leadership to cut across all phases of lives such as agriculture, education, health, social and commerce to make government at the grassroots more viable

Responding on behalf of others, Alex Oladimeji from Ifedore local government appreciated the electorate for the opportunity to serve and assured governor Akeredolu of complementary governance at the grassroots

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *