Candidates vying for governorship election slated for this Saturday in Ondo State have signed a peace accord.

Among the candidates who signed the pact at the Dome in Akure were Mr Oluwarotimi Akeredolu SAN of APC, his PDP counterparts, Mr Eyitayo Jegede SAN, ZLP candidate, Mr Agboola Ajayi, Martin Olateru-Olagbegi of the ADP
and Rotimi Adeleye of the Accord Party


The candidates however enjoined INEC and security agencies to be fair and objective throughout the electioneering process

Addressing the candidates, the peace committee national chairman and former head of state, Retired General Abdusalami Abubakar advised political stakeholders across the state to give peace a chance noting that nothing could be achieved in the atmosphere of rancour

Also, the state chairman council of Obas, Oba Frederick Akinrutan and a member of the committee, Bishop Mathew Kukah as well as the sultan of sokoto, Alhaji Muhammadu Sa’ad Abubakar urged the governorship candidates to play by the rules saying the governorship position was meant for a person

Alhaji Abubakar also cautioned their followers especially the youths against being used for thuggery.

Meanwhile, the INEC chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu who decried the recent political heat in Ondo State polity enjoined the supporters to be tolerant adding that the commission would remain fair to all parties to achieve credible governorship election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *