The Ondo State House of Assembly has lifted the suspension order placed on four Members.

The lawmakers are the former Deputy Speaker, Mr Iroju Ogundeji representing Odigbo Constituency 1, Tomide Akinrindibo, Ondo West 1, Adewale Adewinle Williams, Ondo West Constituency 2 and Mrs Favour Tomomewo, Ilaje Constituency 2.

In a statement made available to Assembly correspondents by the Chairman house committee on information, Youth and Sports Development, Mr Olugbenga Omole, Speaker, Mr Bamidele Oleyelogun had during a plenary noted that the initiall suspension of the lawmakers was in line with the provisions of the rules and standing orders of the House at parliamentary and ratified at plenary .

Mr Oleyelogun explained that Mr Tomide Akinrinbido was suspended at plenary after the House adopted the recommendation of the ad-hoc committee set up to investigate allegation of misconduct against him over the use of unparliamentary language, least expected of a lawmaker.

The Speaker noted that the four Members went to court to challenge their suspension following which judgement was delivered in their favour and maintained that the House was not served with the court judgement until recently.

According to the Speaker, ” the House Committee on Judiciary and the Legal Department advised that the House should obey the judgement for peaceful co-existence and harmonious relationship between the Judiciary and the Legislature.

The statement adds that the legislative arm of government being a law-making organ is a respecter of the rule of law hence the compliance with the court order on the reinstatement of the suspended Lawmakers.

Mr Oleyelogun added that the recalled lawmakers can now perform their legislative functions as Members of the Ondo State House of Assembly.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *