President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of Ten additional national parks.

Minister of Environment, Mohammad Abubakar, announced this at a press briefing in Abuja.

He said the establishment of the ten parks would increase the country’s national parks to seventeen adding that an executive bill would be sent to the National Assembly on the development.

Abubakar said, “The President has graciously approved the establishment of 10 additional national parks bringing the total number of the national parks in the country to 17.

“To give credence and legal backing to this worthy cause, an executive bill will soon be presented to the National Assembly for further necessary action.”

The minister stated that the first national park in Nigeria, Kanji Lake, was created in 1979.

This, he said, was followed by six others spread across the country.

“The creation of additional national parks in Nigeria has become imperative in view of the prevailing effects of climate change across the globe,” Abubakar said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *