The House of Representatives has confirmed the appointment of the new service chiefs in accordance with the provisions of the Armed Forces Act.

The House resolution was passed after the consideration of the report of the Special Committee which screened the four nominees.

The Service Chiefs namely Major General Lucky Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major General Ibrahim Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

In his remarks on the report, the Chairman of the joint committee, Mr Babajimi Benson recalled that President Muhammadu Buhari had on February 10, 2021 written to the House, requesting for the confirmation of the new chiefs in line with the Armed Forces Act.

This according to him led to the setting up of the joint committee on defence to screen the officers.

Similarly, the House also took a decision at plenary to dispatch a delegation to condole with the Chief of Air Staff on the crash of the Nigerian Airforce NAF aircraft that occurred last Sunday.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *