The Presidential Steering Committee, PSC, on COVID-19 is to sanction Ninety passengers who evaded the mandatory Seven-day quarantine for persons arriving from restricted countries.

The sanctions include disabling travel passports of the defaulters for a period of not less than one year and cancellation of visas and permits of
foreigners. (Under the category)

In a statement signed by the Chairman of PSC and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation Mr Boss Mustapha, the statement notes that the defaulters violated the provisions of the Corona virus (COVID-19) Health protection Regulation 2021.

According to the statement, early this month, the PSC issued a travel advisory for passengers arriving in Nigeria from Brazil, Turkey and India to mitigate the risk of importation of COVID-19 variants of concerns.

The Statement which identifies the defaulters as Persons Of Interest (POI) urges members of the public to regard them as those that constitute an immediate health hazard to the Society.

The statement also advises the violators to report to the nearest State public health department within the next Forty-eight hours or call the Port Health authority or the Ministry of Health on these numbers 08036134672 and 08032461990 for further instructions.

The statement displays the names, nationality, passport numbers, flight numbers, country visited and dates of arrival of the defaulting passengers.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *