Journalists have been advised to always consider national security when disseminating information.

A former commandant of the National Defence College, Rear Admiral Samuel Alade (Retired) gave the advice in Akure while delivering a lecture as part of activities marking the Ondo NUJ 2021 Press Week.

Rear admiral AladeĀ  said the media played an important role in uniting or disintegrating the nation, hence the need for them to ensure economic and political stability in the country at all times.

He charged journalists to use their power positively especially in the face of porous social media which had become formidable tools in the hands of terrorists and insurgents.

He however called on government to allow press freedom to thrive as that was the only way journalists could propagate factual information.

Earlier, the chairman NUJ Ondo state council, Mr Adetona Aderoboye thankedĀ  guests for associating with the union assuring them that quacks would be weeded out of the profession.

Meanwhile, Three notable Nigerians have been given award of excellence by the Nigerian union of journalist ondo state council.

They are, the wife of Ondo state governor, Mrs Betty anyanwu akeredolu, the Rector, Federal polytechnic ileoluji Professor Emmanuel Fasakin and the member representing Akoko north east / north west federal constituency Mr Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo.

This was part of the occasion marking the nuj 2021 press week taking place in Akure.

Responding Mrs Anyanwu-Akeredolu thanked the union for identifying with her and her projects which were aimed at improving the lives and health of citizens of ondo state.

In his own words, the Rector federal polytechnic ileoluji professor Emmanuel Fasakin said the award was a testimony that the institution was achieving giant strides and pursuing lasting legacies.

On his part, Mr olubunmi Tunji-Ojo promised to continue to sponsor bills that would bring development to the state.

Explaining the reason behind the honour, The secretary nuj ondo state council, Mr Leke Adegbite noted that the awardees were carefully selected based on their performances in their various endeavors.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *