The immediate past secretary to Ekiti State Goverment Mr Biodun Abayomi oyebanji has been elected as the candidate of the All progressives Congress in the June 18 Governorship election in the state

Mr Oyebanji polled 101,703 votes to defeate other contestants in the primary election which was conducted in the 177 wards of the state through option A4 amidst protest from 6 aspirants over alleged irregularities.

Announcing the result at the party secretariat, chairman of Ekiti state primary election committee of APC and Governor of Jigawa state,  Abubakar Badaru said Mr Oyebanji won the Primary election having polled the total number of lawful votes in the poll.

Governor Badaru said the election was conducted peacefully as the committee did not receive any reports of violence which made the primary election credible.

On the boycott  of the election by Some aspirants, Governor Badaru said he was surprised with such action since there was a meeting before the election where the modalities adopted for the conduct of the primary was agreed on.

Governor Badaru told newsmen that any aspirants with complaint should channel it to the appeal Committee for necessary action.

He urged party members to support the candidate in the interest of unity and success of the party in the June 18 Governorship poll.

In an acceptance speech, the APC Governorship candidate Mr Biodun Oyebanji said he would embrace other aspirants and encouraged them to work for the party.

The primary election was boycotted by six aspirants who alleged irregularities and manipulation of election materials in favour of an aspirant.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *