The Association of Nigerian Authors, ANA, Ondo State Chapter, has elected a new set of executives to pilot the affairs of the noble association for the next two years.

During the election, a lecturer in the Department of Mass Communications, Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo, Dr Sunday Afolayan was elected Chairman while Mr Bisi Ajiboye – a veteran broadcaster, emerged Vice Chairman of the association.

The election was held during an extraordinary meeting of the association at the Nigerian Union of Journalists, NUJ, Press Centre, Pen House, Adegbemile, Akure, the Ondo State capital.

It had in attendance the immediate past state Chairperson, Dr Yemi Mahmud, her Secretary, Dr Susan Akinkurolere.

The both supervised the election, among other members of the pen fraternity.

Shortly after the swearing ceremony, the new Chairman, Dr Afolayan in his acceptance speech, thanked God for a smooth transition.

Dr Afolayan also appreciated the progenitor of the association in the state, Basorun Seinde Arogbofa for his continued support and commitment, especially for bringing the body together again after a long period of inactivity.

He therefore prayed for long life and good health for the highly revered elderstateman.

Afolayan, who also appreciated other past chairmen and their executives for their role in the uplift of the association, solicited their support in all the programmes and events of the association.

Speaking further, the Ondo ANA Chairman noted that the new administration would be all inclusive as the collective interest of members would always be the cardinal creed in the running of the association.

He promised to carry all members along and give them room to exhibit their God-given talents at all times.

The chairman called for unity among members urging them to shun rancour saying everyone would have a say in the running of the association during his tenure.

Dr Afolayan promised that his committee would soon unveil programme of events for the current year, which he said would bring more progress, not only to members but to the state in general.

Other members of the new executives include Miss Tosin Afe – General Secretary, Pastor Oladele Afariogun – Assistant Secretary, Dr Mrs Folasade Ade-Johnson – Treasurer, Mrs Jide Abu – Financial Secretary, Mr Jide Ogidan – PRO 1 and Comrade Goke Williams – PRO 2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *