The sixth Governorship election in Ekiti State holds today across the one hundred and seventy seven wards in the sixteen Local Government Areas of the state.

Also, election into the Ekiti East House of Assembly Constituency one will hold today.

Sixteen political parties are to participate in the governorship election, while five political parties fielded candidates for the assembly bye election.

Ten thousand, two hundred and sixty nine Ad-hoc staff will conduct the election across the two thousand, four hundred and forty five polling units in the state.

Four INEC National Commissioners and eight Residents Electoral Commissioners were deployed for the conduct of governorship election, while eighty-seven National Observers, Seventy nine domestic Observers as well as eight International Observers were accredited by INEC.

Out of the sixteen governorship candidates participating in the election, fourteen are males while two are females.

A total number of five hundred and eighty three Journalists from ninety one media organisations were accredited to cover the election.

The Ekiti State Governorship election will be the first one to be conducted based on the newly signed Electoral Act, while three thousand three hundred and forty six Bimodal Voters Accreditation system, BVAS machines will be used.

Meanwhile, Deputy Inspector General of Police, Coordinating Ekiti Election, Mr. Johnson Kokumo has ordered restriction of movement between six o’clock in the morning and five o’clock in the evening, while voting and accreditation start by eight thirty in the morning and end by half past two in the afternoon.

18,000 police officers have been deployed to ensure the smooth conduct of the poll including the DSS, Civil Defence and the military .




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *