The Sports Writers Association of Nigeria SWAN, Ondo state chapter has inaugurated a new caretaker committee that would steer the affairs of the association for the next three months.

The three members of the caretaker committee were inaugurated by the Southwest vice president of SWAN, Mr Ajayi Obe Oluwaseun at the SWAN office located at the state sports complex in Akure.

The three members are former chairman Mr Wahab Bankole, Mrs Timileyin Falade and Leo Abanikanda.

Earlier, the scheduled Ondo SWAN election was halted by the National Southwest vice President of SWAN, Mr Ajayi Obe Oluwaseun based on a petition written by an aspirant on membership eligibility and omission of some financial members names on the list cleared for the election.

However, the call for nomination of caretaker committee members was marred as some aggrieved members staged a walkout from the meeting while others were on ground to conclude the process.

Reacting in an interview the Southwest vice president and a former chairman of SWAN Oyo state Mr Ajayi Obe Oluwaseun who supervised the process expressed displeasure with the attitude of some of the members describing it as an act of indiscipline which is against the National president, Sir Honor Sirawoo led executive board.

Meanwhile, the postponed election will now be conducted after the composition of a new electoral umpire by the three man caretaker committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *