The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has sworn in Nineteen Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECS.

On the occasion in Abuja, INEC Chairman Professor Mahmoud Yakubu said out of the nineteen RECs, Five were reappointments while Fourteen were fresh appointments.

The INEC boss who told them to bring their wealth of knowledge to bare in their new jobs reminded them that their loyalty is to Nigeria while their allegiance must be to Nigerians.

Professor Yakubu told the RECs that with one hundred and thirteen days to the 2023, they have to work with the staff at their states of posting and be guided by the provisions of the law and the commission’s various regulations and guidelines.

He urged the new RECs to always consult with stakeholders and be guided by the provisions of the commission’s code of conduct while dealing with the general public.

According to Professor Yakubu all matters pertaining to official responsibilities should be conducted in the office and attended by the relevant staff and properly documented

He emphasised that the only means of Voter Accreditation in the forthcoming election is the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System, BVAS.

In his response, one of the RECs, Mr Obo Effanga who was posted to Edo State pledged on behalf of others that they would work to deepen democracy and ensure credible polls next year.

Some of the RECs and their Posting include Dr Nura Ali, Sokoto, Dr Mahmuda Isa ,Kaduna, Queen Elizabeth Agu, Anambra, Muhammed Bulama Nura, Bauchi, Professor Samuel Egwu, Benue, Yomere Gabriel Oritsemolebi Cross River among others.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *