The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has declared a two term governor of Lagos state, Bola Tinubu winner of the keenly contested presidential election held across Nigeria on Saturday, 25th February, 2023

Declaring the winner at about ten minutes past four o’clock Wednesday morning , chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Professor Mamood Yakubu said Asiwaju Tinubu and his party, The All Progressives Congress, APC won the election with a total votes of 8,794,726 (eight million, seven hundred and ninety four, seven hundred and twenty six) to defeat his closest rival, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP who polled 6,984,520 votes while Peter Obi, the presidential candidate of the Labour Party garnered 6,101,553.

According to the results as announced, Tinubu and former vice president Alhaji Abubakar won twelve states each, while Mr Peter Obi won eleven states and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP won one state which was Kano state.

Professor Yakubu said certificate of return will be handed over to the president Elect by 3 O’clock on Wednesday at the National collation Centre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *