The incumbent governor of Oyo state, Engineer Seyi Makinde has been declared the winner of the governorship election held across Oyo state on Saturday, 18th March, 2023

Declaring the winner at about half past three o’clock in the afternoon on Sunday, Oyo State Chief Collation officer, Professor Adebayo Bamire said Engineer Seyi Makinde and his party, the People Democratic Party, PDP, won the election with a total votes of 563,756 to defeat his closest rival in a landslide, Senator Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress APC, who polled 256,675votes while Accord governorship candidate, Chief Bayo Adelabu garnered 38,357

Professor Bamire who is the vice chancellor, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife gave the number of total votes cast to stand at 88,9592 and Rejected votes to include 14,920

According to the results as announced, Governor Seyi Makinde won thirty-one out of the thirty three local government areas of Oyo state, while Senator Teslim Folarin won two local governments


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *