Chief Mudashiru Obasa representing Agege constituency one has been unanimously returned as the Speaker of the tenth Lagos State Assembly.

He was nominated by Mr. Temitope Adewale (Ifako-Ijaiye 1) and seconded by Mr. Sylvester Ogunkelu (Epe 2).

Chief Obasa is the longest serving member of the Assembly having been elected for a sixth term.

Mrs Mojisola Lasbat Meranda representing Apapa constituency one has been elected deputy speaker.

She was the erstwhile Chief Whip of the House.

Mrs Meranda was nominated by Mr. Desmond Elliot (Surulere 1) and seconded by Mr Tijani Suraj representing Ojo constituency two.

The election of the speaker and the deputy speaker followed the proclamation of the tenth assembly by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *