Mr. Tajudeen Abbas, member representating Zaria Constitency has been declared the Speaker of the 10th House of Representatives.


Mr Tajudeen Abbas scored a total of 353 votes to defeat his two rivals Idris Ahmed Wase and Aminu Sani who scored 3 votes each.


Benjamin Kalu who was unopposed, was also declared winner as the Deputy Speaker.


The party’s candidate for the position of deputy Speaker Benjamin Kalu also won unopposed.


Three hundred and fifty nine Members-elect voted to elect the two Presiding Officers of the 10th session House of Representatives.


The method of election was by open ballot as prescribed by the 10th edition of the Standing Order.


The nomination of the new speaker was made by the immediate past Majority Leader, Mr. Alhassan Ado-Doguwa who nominated and seconded by Nnolim Nnaji representing Nkanu East/Nkanu West federal constituency


After an open ballot voting which lasted for over One hour, the clerk to the House of Representives Yahaya Danzaria announced Mr Tajudeen Abbas.


More Details later:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *