The Oyo State Chief Judge, Justice Iyabo Yerima has sworn-in fifteen new magistrates, saying it would enable the state judiciary to perform better.

The new magistrates are: Adebola Adedoyin, Olasumbo Kudirat, Raji Ayomide, Adelabu Victoria, Rufus Adeoluwa, Ige Oladipupo and Jimoh Kazeem.

Others are Amin Aminat, Adebiyi Aderemi, Atanda Moyosore, Fasasi Kabirat, Oladele Gladys, Ayanfe Kaosarat, Tolani Sofiat and Macus Omolara.

Justice Yerima, at the event held at the State High Court premises, Ring Road, Ibadan noted that the Oyo State Magistrate had, over time, suffered a shortfall in the number of magistrates.

She said there were only nineteen magistrates presiding in the various Magistrates’ Courts, spread over all the magisterial districts in the state.

According to her, there have been circumstances where a magistrate would preside over more than one magisterial district but expressed optimistic that the situation was set to change.

The Chief Judge however charged the newly appointed magistrates to exercise their authority with fairness, impartiality, honour and utmost integrity.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *