The Ondo State House of Assembly has constituted 33 standing Committees towards enhancing legislative activities.

It was constituted at a plenary presided over by the Speaker, Olamide Oladiji

The standing Committees are, selection Committee headed by the Speaker, Olamide Oladiji, Allocation and welfare headed by the Deputy Speaker, Prince Abayomi Akinruntan, Rules and business, headed by the Majority leader, Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi.

Others are, Committees on Government House and protocol Chaired by the Speaker, Olamide Oladiji, finance and appropriation Chaired by the Majority leader, Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi, Works headed by the parliamentary Secretary , Moyinolorun Ogunwumiju.

Also, Committee on OSOPADEC is headed by Allen Oluwatoyin, Committee on Information is Chaired by Olatunji Oshati, Youth and Sports Development, Olajide Oguntodu, Health Dr. Christopher Ogunlana, Local Government and Chieftaincy affairs, Japheth Oluwatoyin.

Science and education Committee is Chaired by Kolawole Ologede, tertiary institution headed by Chris Ayebusiwa, Land and Housing is Chaired by Biola Oladapo, Agriculture, Atinuke Witherspoon, Security, culture, community development is Chaired by Ololade Gbegudu among others

The Speaker said the inauguration is in line with the section 103 constitution of the Federal republic of Nigeria as amended to enhance the functionality of the Assembly.

Mr Oladiji explained that the Committees were to carry out oversight functions to all MDA’s under them while MDA’s must cooperate with them to ensure check and balance.

The speaker noted that each Committee has the constitutional right to summon any MDA’s under it while any Committee may equally be assigned to adhoc Committee when necessary.

Mr Oladiji who congratulated the various standing Committees,implored them to work assiduously towards achieving the set goal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *