Kwara State Governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq has inaugurated a 12- member Committee on distribution of the Five Billion Naira Federal Government’s palliatives with the charge to ensure transparency and even distribution across the state

According to the Governor, the committee is to make the process of distributing the palliative a nonpartisan, transparent, participatory and credible one.

He stressed that the government trusts the judgment and commitment of members of the committee to make the palliatives reach the nearest and farthest corners of the state.

The Governor explained that the palliative was one of the steps the government was taking to relieve people of the difficulties arising from the fuel subsidy removal and strengthen the economy.

Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq commended members of the committee for accepting to serve the state and urged them to make Kwara a shining example to other states.

Among the terms of reference is for the committee to reach out to different stakeholders and communities, including labour union, trade unions, and marketers to generate a list of beneficiaries, coordinate and distribute the palliative rice in 10kg bags as well as advise the government on the best way to handle the maize component of the palliative.

The timeframe for the assignment would be determined by different factors, such as the receipt of the balance of Two Billion Naira from the Federal Government for purchase of new consignments of the food stuffs.

Speaking on behalf of the committee, the Kwara State Commissioner of Police, Ebunoluwa Adelesi thanked the Governor for finding them worthy to serve, promising to be transparent and not to let the Governor and the state down.

Members of the committee are the Commissioner of Police, Ebunoluwa Adelesi; Emir of Tsonga, Dr. Haliru Yahaya (OON); Abdulrasheed Shafi (DSS); Prof Hamzah Abdulraheem (Secretary General of JNI, Kwara State); Bishop Sunday Timothy Adewole (CAN); Dr Lawal Olohungbebe (CSO).

Others include Mrs Grace Funke Bolaji (CSO); Dr. Saudat AbdulBaqi; Stephen Owoyale; Comrade Yusuf Bashir (people living with disabilities); Binta Abubakar Mora (NUJ); and Abdulrahman Babatunde Ameen (Secretary).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *