Ondo state Acting Governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa has inaugurated local government Palliative committees to ensure effective distribution of food items to residents in the 18 council areas to cushion the effect of fuel subsidy removal by the federal government.

Mr Aiyedatiwa while inaugurating the Palliative committees at the Cocoa conference hall in Akure, urged members of the committee to be equitable and transparent in the distribution of the items at the grassroot.

The Acting governor who said government was aware of the pain caused by the removal of the fuel subsidy gave an assurance that distribution of the palliatives at the local government level would be thorough and transparent.

The Chairman, state palliative committee and commissioner for finance, Mr Wale Akinterinwa said so far, 9,600 bags of rice had been received from the federal government with addition from the state government to reach out to the vulnerable.

Mr Akinterinwa who said the distribution would be done in phases to accommodate others who would not have benefitted after the scheduled date emphasized that the food items were meant for all ethnic groups resident in the state and the poorest of the poor.


The Chairman palliative media sub committee, and commissioner for information, Mrs Bamidele Ademola- Olateju hinted that distribution of the palliatives would begin on the 12th of this month.

Mrs Ademola-Olateju said shuttle buses would be free for students once they resume for the 2023/2024 academic session on Monday, September 18 till December 31st this year.

The Commissioner assured residents that the government was committed to ensuring transparent distribution of the food items urging stakeholders to cooperate so the people could have confidence in the process.

The local government Palliative Committee comprises members of the state executive council, members of the state house of assembly, security agencies, chairmen of the 18 council areas, Traditional leaders, Christian association of Nigeria at the local level, Muslim community, two notable community leaders, civil society organizations and a local government official to serve as secretary.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *