The Nigeria Labour Congress on Friday confirmed the release of the four leaders of the Nigeria Union Road Transport Workers by the Nigeria Police Force.

The NLC President, Mr Joe Ajaero, confirmed the release in a telephone interview with the News Agency of Nigeria in Abuja.

Ajaero said that the officials were released on Thursday night after staying for more than a month in custody.

The released officials were the National President, Tajudeen Baruwa, General Secretary, Anthony Chukudi, Olayi Odion, National Trustee and Principal Assistant Secretary, Abdulrasak Yemi.

The National Executive Council had during its meeting on August 31 condemned the police’s action and called for the release of the NURTW leadership.

This was part of NLC’s demand during the two-day nationwide warning strike held on September 5 and 6.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *